Applying for Marriage or Civil Union

Montclair Registrar of Vital Statistics Arlene Karp
Phone: 973-509-4973
Email: [email protected]

Below is the list of requirements when applying for a marriage, remarriage, civil union or reaffirmation of civil union license. License applications are by appointment only. Call 973-509-4973 to schedule an appointment.

How to apply for a marriage license/civil union

Complete the application form. Do not sign the marriage application form before going to the Local Registrar. You must sign the application, under oath, in the presence of the issuing authority.

Requirements for entering into a marriage/civil union

The following criteria must be met before two people can enter a marriage/civil union:

  • Not be a party to another civil union, domestic partnership or marriage in this state or recognized by this state;
  • Be at least 18 years of age.

Where to apply

  • Apply for the marriage/civil union license in the New Jersey municipality where either party resides. The license is valid throughout New Jersey.
  • If neither applicant is a New Jersey resident, submit the application in the municipality where the marriage/civil union ceremony will be performed. In this case, the license is only valid in the issuing municipality.

License applications are by appointment only. Call 973-509-4973 to schedule an appointment.

Required documents when applying for a marriage license

  • Proof of identity by presenting your driver’s license, passport or state/federal I.D.
  • Proof of residency by one applicant if a NJ resident
  • Social Security number*
  • A witness, 18 years of age or older
  • The $28 application fee (Check, money order, or exact change required.)

*Your social security number is required by law for US citizens and will be kept confidential.

Any documents in a foreign language must be accompanied by a certified English translation.

After you apply

There is a 72-hour waiting period before the license is issued. The waiting period begins when the application is filed with the Local Registrar. There is no 72-hour waiting period for a remarriage; however, you must bring a certified copy of your existing marriage.

The marriage license application is valid for six months from the date accepted, unless the Registrar has given prior approval to extend the validity of the application to a maximum of one year. Only one marriage license may be granted from a marriage application. If the license expires before being used, a new application must be made and another $28 fee remitted.


For individuals who are currently married/in a civil union in New Jersey or are married/in a civil union in another state or country, the option exists to reaffirm your relationship/vows by registering a remarriage/reaffirmation.

To apply for a remarriage/reaffirmation, the couple must provide proof of their existing marriage/civil union, meet the requirements for entering into a marriage/civil union in New Jersey and follow the guidelines above to completing the license application. The process for a remarriage/reaffirmation license is the same as for the marriage/civil union license, except that the remarriage/reaffirmation license must be accompanied by the proof of existing marriage/civil union. There is no 72-hour waiting period before the remarriage/reaffirmation license is issued.